food / Style

Try This at Home

As I promised myself, I tried another new recipe this week. This week it was Bacon Ranch Chicken. I was inspired to try it because my husband and son eat ranch on most anything. Also, I couldn’t help but channel my daughter who is away at college. Given the opportunity, she would drink the stuff straight from the bottle. There probably aren’t too many people who get inspired by ranch dressing. You have just met one.

You WILL want to try this at home. If your cooking style is good ol’ family food or a beautifully presented meal for company, this recipe fits the bill. Basically, you fry five or six slices of bacon while preheating your oven to 400 degrees. Pour half a cup of bottled ranch dressing (I suppose you could make your own) in the bottom of a 13×9 baking dish. Remove the bacon from the grease and set aside. Use the grease to fry split-and-halved boneless chicken breasts just until white, then place chicken in the 13×9 ranch-laced baking dish. Pour another half cup of ranch over the top of the chicken, crumble the bacon on top, sprinkle about half a cup of mozzarella on top and bake for 10-20 minutes. Throw a little more mozzarella over the dish before serving. Simple, delicious, and pretty to serve with it’s white sauce, bacon crumbled on top, and lovely melted cheese.

I served this hearty, family pleaser with a Taylor Farms bagged salad I purchased at SAMs. Talk about easy. Everything you need for a “fancy” salad is in the bag. The Asain Chopped Salad we had with the chicken included fresh cilantro, sesame ginger dressing, cabbage, carrots, wonton noodles, and toasted almonds. Oh my Goodness, it is delicious. And the price is reasonable, too. There is no way I could have purchased all of these ingredients separately and made the salad for the purchase price of the kit. http://www.taylorfarms.com/index.php/Products/convbagsalad

Today, I’m going to make black walnut fudge. This is my mother’s favorite fudge, and it’s been years since she’s had a piece. She has no clue I am making it. I’m excited about surprising her.

Until next time, try something new that stimulates your creativity. I’ve chosen cooking. What will you choose?

Leave a Reply

