4-H / 50 / education / emotional health / Health / higher education / lifestyle

I’m 50, Bitches!

Unknown

Becoming 50 has spurred a reaffirmation of my life.  New plans, clearer vision, and, admittedly,  some adjusting of what I thought I knew have been the hallmark of the first three months of this milestone.

Good Decision Alert:  I decided, at the end of age 49, to pursue a second Masters Degree.  I begin my first class on August 19.  It has been 13 years since I have taken a class for college credit and 24 years since I completed my first MA.  I need this!  I have never understood the mentality of graduation being an end to formal education.  There is too much out there to learn.  I have too much to offer this damn world.  So…ready or not, world of integrated marketing communications, here I come!

Poor Decision Alert:  I also decided, at age 49,  that I would not monitor my eating any longer.  I was sick-to-death of counting points, hitting the scale every week, worrying about what I was going to eat, you get the picture – fatiguing as hell!  Well, my body wasn’t on board with that.  My nurse practitioner told me so.  The results of my post-50 blood tests indicated high cholesterol.  They also indicated that I had been exercising.  Yay!  The fact that a blood test could tell a health professional about my physical activity was intriguing.  I can’t sugarcoat (figuratively and literally) my lifestyle anymore.  Thank goodness the exercise discovery was a positive, because my nurse practitioner was not buying my new philosophy about food.  I am on meds for the next six months, with the expectation that I lose this freaking weight.  She wants me off the meds in six months.  Everything else came back great.  No pre-diabetes, no organ issues.  I am the picture of health, except for the cholesterol.  And that alone could be deadly if it’s not addressed.

50-Year-Old Soul Decisions:

I will thoroughly enjoy my son’s last two years in high school and my daughter’s adventures in college. I will be present for them and for my husband.

I will lose the weight -which means I will watch what I eat, dammit!

I will get my MA in IMC.

I will devote a generous portion of my time to my beloved career in education and to the 4-H program.  Whitney Houston got a few things right in her life – one being the lyrics to The Greatest Love of All –  “I believe that children are our future.”

Until next time, meditate on how old you would be if you didn’t know your chronological age.  Take care of yourself, Bitches!

Leave a Reply

